Drew Pearson on Hall of Fame: “You Broke My Heart”

Drew Pearson on Hall of Fame:

Drew Pearson, the recipient of the former Dallas Cowboy, has been waiting for a call from the Pro Football Hall of Fame for decades. He is still waiting.

Since this is the 100th season of the NFL, the 2020 class is larger than usual. An extended class of 20 members is to be anchored in Canton, Ohio.

Fifteen of these members belong to a 100-year special class consisting of ten seniors (players who last played more than 25 years ago), three contributors (someone other than a player or coach) and two coaches.

Pearson, a Super Bowl champion and a member of the 1970s NFL team, believed that this would be his year.

Instead, it was a day of disappointment.

Pearson, 69, invited family and friends, as well as CNN subsidiary KTVT, to his home in Plano, Texas, to see how the 15-strong 2020 centenary celebrated over two hours of Good Morning on Wednesday NFL Network was unveiled football ”.

His name was not mentioned and he could not hide his feelings.

“You broke my heart,” said Pearson. “You broke my heart. And they did it that way! You lined it up like this. “

Pearson was with Dallas from 1973 to 1983. He played in 156 games and caught 489 passes for 7,822 yards and 48 touchdowns. He appeared three times in the Super Bowl and won the Super Bowl XII in 1978.

He is the only member of the entire decade of the 1970s who is not represented in the Hall of Fame.

“Can’t help it,” said Pearson tearfully. “Can’t catch damn passports anymore. Routes can’t go. It’s there. What upsets me more is that when they say you don’t deserve it, they talk negatively about you. It’s about my career in the NFL nothing negative. Nothing! “

Cowboys shared Pearson’s frustration. Former cowboy recipient Dez Bryant, who, like Pearson, wore number 88, tweeted: “What they did to Drew Pearson is not true … Original 88 … you deserve to be in the Hall of Fame, no if and but … i’m sorry how are you man … “

Tony Dorsett, the legendary Cowboy and Hall of Famer, was Pearson’s teammate with the Cowboys. Dorsett tweeted a photo of himself with Pearson and wrote, “So disappointed that my husband @ 88DrewPearson was not selected for @ProFootballHOF. He deserved to be there. Great player, great man, and great friend.”

The 15 were chosen by a jury last week during a meeting in the Hall of Fame. You will be accompanied by five former modern-age players in the 2020 class. This group of five will be chosen on February 1st, the day before the Super Bowl LIV, in Miami. The class will be unveiled at NFL Honors, a two-hour prime time award that airs nationwide on the night before the Super Bowl LIV at 8 p.m. ET on Fox.

Here are the 15 elected members (* indicates that the person has died):


Bill Cowher – 1992-2006 Pittsburgh Steelers

Jimmy Johnson – 1989-1993 Dallas Cowboys, 1996-99 Miami Dolphins


* Steve Sabol, Administrator / President – 1964-2012 NFL Films

Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner – 1989-2006 National Football League

* George Young, Contributor / General Manager – 1968-1974 Baltimore Colts, 1975-78 Miami Dolphins, 1979-1997 New York Giants, 1998-2001 National Football League


Harold Carmichael, Broad Recipient – 1971-1983 Philadelphia Eagles, 1984 Dallas Cowboys

Jim Covert, offensive duel – 1983-1990 Chicago Bears

* Bobby Dillon, Security – 1952-59 Green Bay Packers

Cliff Harris, Security – 1970-79 Dallas Cowboys

Winston Hill, Offensive Device – 1963-1976 New York Jets, 1977 Los Angeles Rams

* Alex Karras, Defensive Tackle – 1958-1962, 1964-1970 Detroit Lions

Donnie Shell, Security – 1974-1987 Pittsburgh Steelers

* Duke Slater, Offensive Tackle – 1922 Milwaukee Badgers, 1922-25 Rock Island Independents, 1926-1931 Chicago Cardinals

* Mac Speedie, late – 1946-1952 Cleveland Browns (AAFC / NFL)

* Ed Sprinkle, Defensive End / Linebacker – 1944-1955 Chicago Bears