Ryan Murphy is honored during the GLAAD Media Awards 2020 – Up News Info

Ryan Murphy is honored during the GLAAD Media Awards 2020 - Up News Info

% MINIFYHTML9d206fba87f7fae7bc0cdb634eff252311%
% MINIFYHTML9d206fba87f7fae7bc0cdb634eff252312%

Kevin Winter / Getty Images

Ryan Murphy is this year the winner of the 31st edition of the Vito Russo Awards of the GLAAD Media Awards.

The organization announced in a press release on Thursday morning that the producer Attitude The will be honored during the ceremony on March 19 in New York City.

% MINIFYHTML9d206fba87f7fae7bc0cdb634eff252313%
% MINIFYHTML9d206fba87f7fae7bc0cdb634eff252314%

As explained in the statement: “The Vito Russo prize is awarded to an openly LGBTQ media professional who has made a significant difference in the acceleration of acceptance of LGBTQ. The prize is named after Vito Russo, founder of GLAAD and celebrated ACT UP activist, who pressed to open the door for news and entertainment industries with LGBTQ artists and stories. “

President and CEO of GLAAD Sarah Kate Ellis said in a statement that the American horror story maker has a “unique and talented story mark, quot; that has generated weird voices.

As Ellis said, “Ryan Murphy is a talented pioneer behind some of the most innovative and popular LGBTQ projects in the history of television, theater and film.”

“And he continues to bring under-represented LGBTQ votes to the table in ways that raise the bar in Hollywood,” he continued. “Ryan’s unique and talented stories not only told the crowd, but also created young LGBTQ characters who inspired them to live with courage and pride.”

In addition to his Vito Russo prize, Murphy’s first Netflix series, the politician has been nominated for the exceptional comedy series, with Attitude deserving of a nomination for the Outstanding Drama series.

He will also be honored during the April 16 ceremony in Los Angeles. Attitude writer and director Janet Mock Y Taylor Swift. Mock is rewarded with the Stephen F. Kolzak Award and Swift receives the Vanguard Award.

Murphy joins the winners of the Vito Russo prize Billy doorman (Wrote that history with his Emmy Award for Attitude in 2019), Anderson Cooper, Ricky Martin, Andy Cohen, Cynthia Nixon, RuPaul, Rosie O & # 39; Donnell, Tom Ford, Samira Wiley, Thomas Roberts, George Takei, Alan Cumming, Craig Zadan, Neil Meron and more.

Murphy has a long history in displaying LGBT stories in his work. Joy, American horror story, The murder of Gianni Versace: American crime story, Attitude Y The politician shows strange characters and emphasizes the importance of representing the LGBT community in Hollywood.

Other stories about the queer that the television legend has produced are Tony’s winning revival of Broadways The boys in the band, What is a movie, and the next film version of the Broadway musical The prom protagonist Meryl Streep Y Nicole Kidman.

Watch ME! News mornings from Monday to Friday at 7 a.m.